EYFS Curriculum

We follow the revised Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) 2012. The EYFS consists of 3 prime areas of learning and 4 specific areas of learning listed below.

Prime areas of learning – are fundamental, work together, and are essential tsupport development in all other areas.

Personal, social and emotional development
Communication, and language
Physical development

Specific areas of learning – include essential skills and knowledge for children tparticipate successfully in society.

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design


The 4 key themes from EYFS, listed below, are reflected throughout our practice and provision.

  • Unique child
  • Positive relationships
  • Enabling environments
  • Learning and development


The EYFS guidance states that:

Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Practitioners teach children by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development.

They foster the characteristics of effective early learning:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

To find out more about a specific area of learning, please use the links below: